A seven-and-a-half-pound reminder of my own parenting

I’m packing today to visit my brand new granddaughter, Raya Greenberg, all of one week old. Raya means friend in Hebrew and is the perfect name, not only because her parents, Jeremy and Leslie, are supportive friends, but because her grandmother, Ruth Alexander, for whom she’s named, was hospitable beyond belief. She welcomed everyone, for a day or for years, always saying that she never cleaned or cooked anything special for her guests.
Raya’s birth reminds me of my own motherhood, the joys and challenges. I placed bells on Leslie’s and Joel’s shoes which let me hear where they were—until, when they grew older, they sneaked off the shoes so I couldn’t find them for naps and unpleasant things. I carried them in slings and backpacks, because outside I couldn’t predict the path ahead which eliminated strollers or baby carriages, and inside, I needed both hands free for household tasks. The result was that I held them close for many years, something I still miss today.
This morning I put in some edits from Editor Mira Jacob at Babble.com on a personal essay called “Tips from a Blind Mom,” where I detail the methods I used in parenting, in case they have merit to other moms and dads.
Babble.com seems wonderful to work with and responsive. I recommend that other writers consider it as a venue for your work. Parents might want to check them out, too, because their articles seem so useful.

About Sally Hobart Alexander

Blinded at the age of twenty-six, I left California and elementary school teaching for life in Pittsburgh, Pa. There, I met my husband, got a Masters' degree in social work, had two kids, now 35 and 32, and became a writer. Surprisingly, the writing career led me full-circle to teaching, and I teach in Chatham University's M.F.A. program and lead two writing critique groups. Always, since the age of 26, I have traveled, not in the stereotypic darkness attributed to blindness, but a mist. My blog then, "traveling through the mist" will deal with issues in my culturally different life as a blind writer, teacher, speaker, and human being.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

