Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators winter New York City meeting

            The Society of children’s Book Writers and Illustrators holds an annual winter meeting in New York City.  For the first time, I’ll be attending, Feb. 28-29.  The list of presenters makes the word “awesome” really apply.  There are such exquisite writers as Chris Crutcher and Katherine Erskine, along with fine editors such as Cheryl Klein and Wendy Loggia and many agents and art directors, too.  My husband and I travel to Philadelphia first to babysit our not-so-little, but authentically awesome Raya, then head for our hotel Friday night.  Raya does compete well with Chris Crutcher etc. for holding my interest.

            But I want to recommend Crutcher’s 2007 Y.A. novel, Deadline.  If I ever write a book as good, I’ll die happy.  It’s a book that looks at some of the worst flaws human beings can have, some of the worst and saddest situations for young people to experience, and encourages us all to believe that we can still live fully and meaningfully with our hands holding tight to truth and humor and love.

About Sally Hobart Alexander

Blinded at the age of twenty-six, I left California and elementary school teaching for life in Pittsburgh, Pa. There, I met my husband, got a Masters' degree in social work, had two kids, now 35 and 32, and became a writer. Surprisingly, the writing career led me full-circle to teaching, and I teach in Chatham University's M.F.A. program and lead two writing critique groups. Always, since the age of 26, I have traveled, not in the stereotypic darkness attributed to blindness, but a mist. My blog then, "traveling through the mist" will deal with issues in my culturally different life as a blind writer, teacher, speaker, and human being.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

