Note about Newt

            Just a note about Newt. 

            In 1993 a fine portrait artist who hadn’t been starving since the age of 19, Alan, I’ll call him, came to Pittsburgh to photograph and draw me for the cover of a book, Taking Hold: My Journey into Blindness.  He was lovely and funny and interesting, stayed for two hours max, and drove all the way,half-flying, back to New York City.  My editor had told him to paint me “looking strong,” so we’d joked about me holding weights and sneering.  About a year later I received that portrait in the mail, about 3 feet by 2 feet, as a gift from Alan.  People always compliment it, hanging in our dining room.  They  say that I “look pensive and strong.  My husband loves it and explains that I “look determined, as if I’m facing third down and 17 and I’m hell-bent to get the first down.” 

            It’s very uncommon to get a cover illustration or any illustration from an artist for free, and rightly so.  I’ve bought several originals from my picture books and am very pleased. 

            When I called to thank Alan for his touching gift, he told me that I’d been “an easy client.”  He’d just painted a portrait of newt.  By now Newt had become Speaker of the House in the coup he’d orchestrated. 

            First,” Alan said, “he asked me to repaint it to get rid of his crows’ feet, and then he asked me to get rid of the double chin.”

            Easy to be  “easy” when you can’t see how someone paints you.

 

About Sally Hobart Alexander

Blinded at the age of twenty-six, I left California and elementary school teaching for life in Pittsburgh, Pa. There, I met my husband, got a Masters' degree in social work, had two kids, now 35 and 32, and became a writer. Surprisingly, the writing career led me full-circle to teaching, and I teach in Chatham University's M.F.A. program and lead two writing critique groups. Always, since the age of 26, I have traveled, not in the stereotypic darkness attributed to blindness, but a mist. My blog then, "traveling through the mist" will deal with issues in my culturally different life as a blind writer, teacher, speaker, and human being.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

