Rereading books 2

            When I was going blind and for a year or so after, I read many of the same books, over and over again.  In the process of losing my sight, I couldn’t finish books where it seemed that the protagonist would get crushed.  I needed some kind of growth or satisfying ending.  Jane Austen’s books, especially Emma and Pride and Prejudice were my big rereads.  Middlemarch by Eliot was another favorite.  I wasn’t just writing for the story, but the style and the language and the human foibles amused me and raised my spirits.

            Right now I’m rereading a book that I plan to teach in my fall Science Fiction and Fantasy-writing class at Chatham, The Sparrow.  Not a lover of Sci Fi and Fantasy?  I never was particularly either.  But this book is so much more than that.  It really exemplifies the absurd problem in the United States, defined by Stephen King and Ray Bradbury, labeling the genre Science fiction and fantasy, rather than considering it literature, plain and simple, as the Brits do. 

            The Sparrow by Mary D. Russell is definitely Sci fi–about a mission to another planet, 17 Earth years away.  It’s a mission begun by a group of Jesuit priests, written by a woman with undergraduate and graduate degrees in all sub categories of anthropology.  So the book and its sequel, Children of God, address anthropological, theological, biological, scientific, astronomical, linguistic and probably other issues. The writing is superb; the characterizations, excellent.

            So what books do you recommend for rereading?

About Sally Hobart Alexander

Blinded at the age of twenty-six, I left California and elementary school teaching for life in Pittsburgh, Pa. There, I met my husband, got a Masters' degree in social work, had two kids, now 35 and 32, and became a writer. Surprisingly, the writing career led me full-circle to teaching, and I teach in Chatham University's M.F.A. program and lead two writing critique groups. Always, since the age of 26, I have traveled, not in the stereotypic darkness attributed to blindness, but a mist. My blog then, "traveling through the mist" will deal with issues in my culturally different life as a blind writer, teacher, speaker, and human being.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

