The Pirates’ First and Second Halves

            Everyone’s frustrated with the Pirates at the moment, except for one of our dinner guests last night.    He felt all was right with the world, since the Pirates were acting like they’d always acted for the past 20 years—losing.

            As a baseball fan/fanatic, I also feel frustrated.  But I can’t help also empathizing, sympathizing.  I think the players are depressed and lost.  Their confidence is shot, so they press harder.

            As a writer, in a very competitive market, I can remember a triumphant first half of my career; the second half, however, has been less glorious, with more defeats than victories.

            “But it doesn’t compute,” you say.  “The players make a bit more money than you do, Sally Alexander.”

            Ah, right.  So, well.   Guess I don’t actually feel their pain—probably a lot more pain, actually.  Maybe we shouldn’t cut the Pirates a break!  But nonetheless, for some reason, I do feel a little sorry for them.

About Sally Hobart Alexander

Blinded at the age of twenty-six, I left California and elementary school teaching for life in Pittsburgh, Pa. There, I met my husband, got a Masters' degree in social work, had two kids, now 35 and 32, and became a writer. Surprisingly, the writing career led me full-circle to teaching, and I teach in Chatham University's M.F.A. program and lead two writing critique groups. Always, since the age of 26, I have traveled, not in the stereotypic darkness attributed to blindness, but a mist. My blog then, "traveling through the mist" will deal with issues in my culturally different life as a blind writer, teacher, speaker, and human being.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

