Too many words

A popular family story is that I didn’t talk until I was three years old and have been “making up for it since.” Of course, I dispute this. Since becoming blind, in fact, I think I’m the quietest member of my extended family. The talk; I listen. Really. Smile. Not that I don’t get my point across. But I’m convinced that blindness made me a listener. My ears are my life line to the world. And the deafness only increases the effort I put into hearing. However, I find that so much of my revision is in cutting words, trimming what I say. So just maybe there’s something to the claim from my brother and sister that I now “talk way too much.”

About Sally Hobart Alexander

Blinded at the age of twenty-six, I left California and elementary school teaching for life in Pittsburgh, Pa. There, I met my husband, got a Masters' degree in social work, had two kids, now 35 and 32, and became a writer. Surprisingly, the writing career led me full-circle to teaching, and I teach in Chatham University's M.F.A. program and lead two writing critique groups. Always, since the age of 26, I have traveled, not in the stereotypic darkness attributed to blindness, but a mist. My blog then, "traveling through the mist" will deal with issues in my culturally different life as a blind writer, teacher, speaker, and human being.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

