Recommending Writer Rebecca O’Connell

I wonder if Pittsburgh has yet discovered a gem of a writer, Rebecca O’Connell. A children’s librarian at the Squirrel Hill branch of the Carnegie Library, Rebecca is also an eclectic children’s author with at least 7 books published, and one under contract for a 2016 release. Her most recent books have been picture books, her first in the genre entitled The Baby Goes Beep, a Best Book for Babies selection. Then came Danny is Done with Diapers which turned into a board book with the abbreviated title, Done with Diapers, a delightful ABC book. Most recently, Rebecca published Baby Parade, which has sparked Baby Party, the book under contract.
Rebecca hasn’t simply stayed with picture books. Her first sale was for a young adult novel, Myrtle of Willendorf, a book that made the editor laugh out loud alone at his desk. Those of us who call ourselves Rebecca’s friends accuse her of being one of the funniest writers we know with a sick, sick sense of humor. We say that fondly. Rebecca has also published middle grade books and one nonfiction title, Four Sides; Eight Nights. Her latest picture book, Baby Parade shows how brilliant a concept can be. It shows, too, how much a writer can do with fewer than a hundred words. If I may bring my granddaughter, who always calls herself Raya Greenberg, into the conversation, she is one of Rebecca’s biggest fans. Baby Parade is a book she gravitates to regularly and is replacing Baby Goes beep at the moment as her favorite. Please check out Rebecca O’Connell during your next trip to the book store or next visit to amazon.com.

About Sally Hobart Alexander

Blinded at the age of twenty-six, I left California and elementary school teaching for life in Pittsburgh, Pa. There, I met my husband, got a Masters' degree in social work, had two kids, now 35 and 32, and became a writer. Surprisingly, the writing career led me full-circle to teaching, and I teach in Chatham University's M.F.A. program and lead two writing critique groups. Always, since the age of 26, I have traveled, not in the stereotypic darkness attributed to blindness, but a mist. My blog then, "traveling through the mist" will deal with issues in my culturally different life as a blind writer, teacher, speaker, and human being.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Recommending Writer Rebecca O’Connell

  1. susan krevat says:

    Hi Sally. My class and I will be reading your book Mom’s Best Friend this week. I added a link to your blog on my blog. This year I have my own blog, too! I’m very excited to read your book in January because it’s National Braille Literacy Month.

    I’m also looking for new books to read so I’ll have to check out some of your recommendations.

    I’m also becoming your newest follower after I finish writing this post.

Leave a Reply

