Embracing the wintry weather with good books

As I tramped through the unshoveled sidewalks to buy Valentine candy for Bob, I decided to embrace the relentless weather. Here are some wonderful books to enjoy while sipping tea under a quilt:
Novels:
The White Darkness by Geraldine McCaughrean
Dog Song by Gary Paulsen
The Golden compass by Philip Pullman
The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe, by C.S. Lewis
Shiver, by Maggie Stiefvater
Picture Books:
The Snowy Day, by Ezra Jack Keats
Owl Moon by Jane Yolen
The Snowman by Raymond Briggs
Snow by Uri Shulevitz
Can you add more books to the list?

About Sally Hobart Alexander

Blinded at the age of twenty-six, I left California and elementary school teaching for life in Pittsburgh, Pa. There, I met my husband, got a Masters' degree in social work, had two kids, now 35 and 32, and became a writer. Surprisingly, the writing career led me full-circle to teaching, and I teach in Chatham University's M.F.A. program and lead two writing critique groups. Always, since the age of 26, I have traveled, not in the stereotypic darkness attributed to blindness, but a mist. My blog then, "traveling through the mist" will deal with issues in my culturally different life as a blind writer, teacher, speaker, and human being.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Embracing the wintry weather with good books

  1. Marilyn Hollinshead says:

    Another book, Sally. The Dark is Rising by Susan Cooper. Miss you!

    • Marilyn,
      So good to hear from you. Colleen and I were just wondering about you in Massachusetts, speaking of embracing the winter. Have read some wonderful new books, “Fangirl,” Rowell, “I’ll Give you the Sun,” Nelson, not our Vaunda, “The Crossover,” Alexander, not me. Hope you’re feeling well.
      Love,
      Sally

Leave a Reply

