Theft of an idea

It’s been over a month since I posted a single blog because I’ve had two important preoccupations: 1. the birth of our grandson, Clyde levi Greenberg, now 1 month old and about two and a half pounds heavier, and 2. the reading and directing of MFA theses, which has been time-consuming, but satisfying. But I was moved to post a question to writers, especially, but to anyone with ideas for a friend and sister writer. When someone shares an idea with another person, a very specific idea of an article she wants to write, then learns several months later that the person she spoke to stole her idea and published an article, is there any recourse?

About Sally Hobart Alexander

Blinded at the age of twenty-six, I left California and elementary school teaching for life in Pittsburgh, Pa. There, I met my husband, got a Masters' degree in social work, had two kids, now 35 and 32, and became a writer. Surprisingly, the writing career led me full-circle to teaching, and I teach in Chatham University's M.F.A. program and lead two writing critique groups. Always, since the age of 26, I have traveled, not in the stereotypic darkness attributed to blindness, but a mist. My blog then, "traveling through the mist" will deal with issues in my culturally different life as a blind writer, teacher, speaker, and human being.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Theft of an idea

  1. Francesca says:

    I’ve been thinking a bit about ‘theft of an idea’. I think the ‘thief’ should be confronted. It is such a terrible thing to steal an idea, the property of the soul. I find it upsetting to have a friend or colleague destroy a trust.

  2. Beth Schmelzer says:

    I just started to read your blog, Sally, but I wanted to say I love all your books. My latest passion is to write another and shorter children’s book about Laura Bridgman for a younger audience. I wrote to your agent and she said you considered many concepts. Laura and you are inspirational to me. I would never steal your ideas, so please advise me on a good writing path.

Leave a Reply

